Unhealthy Cuts – My Letter to the Editor – News and Observer

By Claire, Communications Intern

I wrote this Wednesday morning in respond to the veto override of the state budget that would defund Planned Parenthood.  I wanted to share with the state that Planned Parenthood is a necessary health facility.  But if you read the comments, not everyone agrees.  (Seriously though, don’t read them if you’re easily frustrated by ignorance and stupidity.)

 

Three months ago, I had a Pap smear at Planned Parenthood during a routine annual exam. They discovered I had abnormal cell growth on my cervix. It does not take a doctor to know what that could mean.

Planned Parenthood is more than just an abortion provider; it provides needed and necessary health services. I did not go to Planned Parenthood because I needed an abortion. I went because I needed my annual exam, and I knew I could trust Planned Parenthood to treat me right.

We are the third state to bar Planned Parenthood from state funding. I have always loved this state and have always been quick to defend its flaws. But defunding Planned Parenthood will hurt people like me. It will only make preventative care, like Pap smears, breast cancer screening, STI/HIV testing and birth control, harder to obtain for many North Carolinians.

I always thought North Carolina was immune from these ideological trends. We were a state that did not follow blindly. But here we are, participating in nationwide ideological foolishness. And how can I love a state that throws me under a bus for the sake of power?

Read more: http://www.newsobserver.com/2011/06/18/1281530/unhealthy-cuts.html#ixzz1PqPXixiG

Leave a Reply

