We rally because it’s not our boss’s business!

March 25, 2014

2:05 AM: I left my UNC apartment and felt discomforted. Upon hearing that I was headed to the ‘Not My Boss’s Business’ rally at the U.S. Supreme Court, my peers nodded, “You’re protesting again, like Moral Mondays but in D.C?” the undecided ache in their voices squeaked. I had to reflect on whom I was doing this for. Me? Them? Those? All?

  • Was this decision for ‘me’? The 18 year old me who was unable to afford Plan B and became pregnant?
  • Was this decision for ‘them’? The striving students who desperately need birth control and protection?
  • Was this decision for ‘those’? The religious right who loophole ‘me’ and ‘them’ with TRAP laws?
  • No, this decision was for all of us. The people of all backgrounds who reserve the right to choose!

 2:30 AM: I stepped onto the bus and felt comforted. My bus buddy Mike and my fellow UNC undergrad Maria smiled. Despite appearing different, we agreed on the need for mobilization. Mike disseminated the BTC Report on economic inequality and Maria blurted out, “I told myself I can’t be afraid of activism.” The bus cheered in solidarity.

8:50 AM: We arrived at Union Station and felt fired up! We trekked through the blizzard to the Supreme Court building and rallied for 2.5 hours. Singing birth control-themed songs about the snow, politics, and direct action kept us warm. Community leaders brought their perspectives to the podium. A sea of parents, millennials, doctors, Latinas, spiritualists, ASL interpreters, reporters, and the like partook in the rally against Hobby Lobby’s lawsuit.

12:15 PM: Our bus gave one last chant to D.C., “The people united will never be defeated!” and departed. As an African American millennial, I felt incredible.

6:45 PM: Three pit-stops later, we arrived in Chapel Hill. With the weight of these court cases on our shoulders, we started a dialogue about choice. Personifying corporations, challenging the Affordable Care Act, and prioritizing religion denies choice.

We must press on until we all feel comforted, fired up, and incredible.

Image

The author early on the morning of March 25, 2014 standing on the steps of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Written by: Park Cannon, Organizing Intern at NARAL Pro-Choice NC.

Leave a Reply

