Wrapping Up the Semester at UNC Chapel Hill

By Justine Schnitzler, Spring 2016 Campus Leader at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

I can’t believe I’ve spent an entire semester working as NARAL Pro-Choice North Carolina’s campus representative for UNC-Chapel Hill! It sounds cliché, but time really does fly when you’re having fun. I wanted to use my last blog post of the semester to reflect on my last few major projects, and give everyone a heads up on some of the work I am planning for next year!

First up: I hosted a very successful screening of TRAPPED, the new documentary about “TRAP” laws, which stand for Targeted Regulation of Abortion Providers. After some scrambling to secure a screening room, several last-minute trips to Harris Teeter for snacks, and a bit of luck, the event went off without a hitch! The film itself was certainly sobering—we created a hashtag for viewers to tweet their reactions to the film, and most noted how simultaneously ridiculous and heartbreaking the laws are. Planning the TRAPPED event was difficult, but ultimately, we reached out to over forty people and collaborated with a new student group on UNC’s campus: UNC Nursing Students for Choice, organized by Laura Britton. I am eagerly looking forward to working with them again in the coming semester and year!

To finish the semester, I conducted an informal photo campaign aimed at destigmatizing abortion services and abortion care access. It was difficult to get enough folks together in one place, especially during finals season, but I ended up with some very kind and generous participants and great photos to share with both NARAL and all you readers! Check out some of the photos below!

13041397_1089208571101870_4702242942214414573_o

Justine Schnitzler, student and NARAL Pro-Choice NC Campus Leader at UNC-CH

Looking ahead to next year, I am in the preliminary planning stages for several awesome events. I hope to execute a large, campus-wide photo campaign; host an open panel for students on the topic of abortion care and access, in the context of the upcoming election; and work a successful fundraising event for the Carolina Abortion Fund! I am so ready to pick up my work with NARAL Pro-Choice NC in the fall, and I remain incredibly grateful for the chance to work with such an important organization.

Until next fall,

Justine

To apply to be a Campus Leader at your college or university, e-mail our Advocacy & Organizing Manager at Sarah@ProChoiceNC.org.

Leave a Reply

